Great Balls of Energy

1494439558315605688645I love to visit Healthy cafes to get inspired for smoothies and raw energy bars and the likes to make at home. After all, who can afford $3 bite size energy balls and $7 smoothies on the regular? Upon one of my visits, my little son picked out a treat called the Chunky Monkey Ball from the Remedy Cafe in Hood River. He loved it! So, I asked if I could write down the ingredients and the employee responded, “Would you like the recipe?” Of course, I would. So he sent it to me but of course, I didn’t have all of the same ingredients and improvised with what I had– So here is the recipe, I came up with– Heavily influenced by their recipe.

ingredients:

2 cups peanut butter
1/2 cup of maple syrup

1 cup oats
1/4 cup flax seed ( grind in blender/ Vitamix)
1/4 cup hemp seed
1 cup dried cherries
1 cup chopped walnuts
3/4 cup chopped dark chocolate chips
1/8 cup raw cocoa powder
1/4 cup of crispy brown rice cereal ( similar to rice krispies– if that’s all you have, used that)

First mix the dry ingredients, then combine the nut butter and syrup together. Then mix the wet into the dry and make balls! I made mine the size to fit into tiny muffin liners.

About In the Kitchen

I'm all about foods that are delicious and nutritious for vegetarians, "pescatarians", and vegans alike who love local, seasonal, and organic foods. Health is wealth.... here i will keep my favorite recipes.
This entry was posted in cookie monster, desert, snack, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

